Tuscola County Board of Commissioners January 3, 2011 Minutes HH Purdy Building

County Clerk Margie A. White called the organizational meeting of the Board of Commissioners of the County of Tuscola, Michigan, held in the HH Purdy Building in the Village of Caro, Michigan, on the 3rd day of January 2011 to order at 11:05 a.m. local time.

COMMISSIONERS PRESENT:

District #1 VACANT, District #2 Thomas Bardwell, District #3 Tom Kern, District #4 Roy Petzold, District #5 Gerald Peterson

11-M-001

Motion by Peterson seconded by Petzold to continue with the current procedure of electing the Board Chairman annually. Motion carried.

ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

The County Clerk declared the floor open for nominations

Commissioner Peterson nominated Commissioner Bardwell. The County Clerk declared Commissioner Bardwell elected Chairman. The County Clerk turned the meeting over to Chairman Bardwell.

ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRMAN

Chairman Bardwell declared the floor open for nominations. Commissioner Petzold nominated Commissioner Peterson. Commissioner Peterson was elected Vice-Chairman.

11-M-002

Motion by Peterson seconded by Bardwell to adopt the agenda as amended. Motion carried.

11-M-003

Motion by Peterson seconded by Petzold to approve the out-of-state travel request submitted by Commissioner Peterson to attend the NACo 2011 Annual Legislative Conference in Washington D.C. and the NACo Annual Conference in Oregon. Motion carried.

2011 Major Work Tasks were reviewed.

Public Participation – none

BOARDS & COMMISSIONS APPOINTMENTS:

<u>Council on Aging Advisory Board</u> – 1 position Jerald Gamm

<u>Recycling Advisory Committee</u> – 2 positions Donald Duggar Tod Fackler

<u>Department of Public Works</u> - 2 positions Elwyn Helwig Donald Duggar

<u>Planning Commission</u> – 3 positions Delores Damm Lonnie Kester Zygmunt Dworzecki

<u>Public Health Board</u> – 2 positions Richard Horsch

<u>Department of Human Services</u> – 1 position Robert Hirn

<u>Parks & Recreation Commission</u> – 2 positions Christina Martens Lisa Valentine

<u>Recycling Advisory Committee</u> – 3 positions James McMinn Patricia E. Frazer Norma E. Wallace

<u>Central Dispatch Authority</u> Paul Cherniawski (citizen-at-large) Dale Churchill (twp. rep.)

11-M-004

Motion by Kern seconded by Peterson to adopt the Commissioners' Rules of Order as presented. Motion carried.

Meeting adjourned at 12:38 p.m., until 8:30 a.m., January 13, 2011

Margie A. White Tuscola County Clerk